ICPC Programming Contest

The ICPC is a world-wide programming contest between universities. It has a long story starting back in the 80ies, and today more than 50.000 students participate every year for a chance to show their programming prowess.

The programming challenges in the ICPC are similar to "programming contests" websites such as Codeforces or Topcoder (many of which were created by ICPC alumni). The main difference of the ICPC, besides its focus on university participation, is that it is a team competition, where three students must share a single computer. In this way, team work become as important as programming or algorithmic ability.

I believe that ICPC (and other programming competitions) are great educational tools for computer science. Solving programming competition problems can help students learn not only algorithmic skills, but also debugging, problem solving, reading comprehension, and testing.

Personally, I participated on ICPC (ACM-ICPC back then) as a contestant from 2000 to 2003, where I reached the World Finals in Beverly Hills. Since I joined Tsukuba University in 2012, I've been the coach for their ICPC teams, and we have reached the World Finals 5 times (2014, 2015, 2018, 2019, 2020).


  • 2023/2024: 6 teams on National Contest, 2 teams on Japan Regional, 1 team on Asia-Pacific Championship
  • 2022/2023: TODO update this
  • 2021/2022: TODO update this
  • 2020/2021: TODO update this
  • 2019/2020: 6 teams on National Contest, Gold Medal in Jakarta, Accepted for the Moscow WF
  • 2018/2019: 5 teams on National Contest, 5th place in Yokohama, Accepted for the Porto WF
  • 2017/2018: 4 teams on National Contest, 10th place in Yokohama, Accepted for the Beijing WF
  • 2016/2017: 7 teams on National Contest, 15th place in Jakarta
  • 2015/2016: 10 teams on National Contest, 8th place in Taipei
  • 2014/2015: 5 teams on National Contest, 5th place in Tokyo, Accepted for the Marrakech WF
  • 2013/2014: 5 teams on National Contest, 6th place in Chiya-Yi, Accepted for the Ekaterinburg WF
  • 2012/2013: 4 teams on National Contest